Fancy Friday #111 – Water Spotted

Today was a new technique for me. I never tried water spotted before, but it looks really cool. It didn’t quite turn out how I wanted. I searched online and came by Spektor’s Nails and her blue water spotted nails, which inspired by for the color choice. My holes didn’t become as large as I wanted them, but I will play around a bit more with the technique.

VDSC_1212

I started with two coats of Sally Hansen Pacific Blue (the original color) and then I used tap water for the water spotted effect. I didn’t want to use the water I normally use for water marbling because I had a feeling I would need to change the water quite often as it became filled with perfume. I dropped a couple of drops of a England Queen of Scots and spritzed some perfume on top to create the holes. The second color is Essie Blue Rhapsody. It didn’t want to create holes as well as the dark blue and ended up covering a bit to much of the base and the dark blue on my index finger, so I went back in with Pacific Blue and water spotted with that.

VDSC_1231

My pinky turned out really good. I really liked how the dark blue looked on my ring finger that I ended up not covering it with the chrome blue polish. I used an old perfume that smelled like rose, so my nail smelled like roses for a couple of days, so keep that in mind if you use a perfume.

VDSC_1224

On my thumb I switched out the Essie polish for Sally Hansen Leaden Lilac, but it didn’t show up as bright over the base, but it created a really cool effect. I think I had trouble with the chrome polish partly because my water wasn’t to clean and partly because the polish dries super fast. Remember to click by the other ladies to see what they have done for today.

I dag leger vi med vand og alkohol, for temaet er water spotted. Det blev ret fint, men kunne godt have tænkt mig at hullerne var blevet større. Husk at klikke forbi de andre for at se hvad de har lavet til i dag.

Malle

Leave a Reply

